It is no secret that underage college students occasionally consume alcohol. Underage college students who consume, purchase, or transfer alcohol sometimes encounter law enforcement. These encounters may lead to the college student being arrested and charged with Minor Consuming.
Indiana treats underage alcohol consumption harshly. Minor Consuming is a crime in Indiana – specifically, a Class C Misdemeanor. Class C Misdemeanors are punishable by 0-60 days in jail, up to a $500 fine, and a driver’s license suspension.
Being charged with Minor Consuming is a frightening experience. A Minor Consuming conviction will go on the student’s criminal record, may result in consequences from the student’s university, and may hurt future job prospects. However, an attorney may be able to negotiate an agreement with the Prosecutor’s Office that will result in the charges being dismissed and the student’s record remaining unblemished.
The attorneys at May Oberfell Lorber are well-versed in criminal law and can help any student navigate the waters of the criminal justice system and achieve a successful resolution to their case.
This article is for informational purposes only and should not be relied upon as legal advice.
Related News and Insights:
Operating While Intoxicated … Answers to Common Questions – April 17, 2018